I recently attended the Level Coaching course run by Basketball Victoria Country Council in Geelong. I learnt heaps, but one thing I implemented straight away was Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) for the team to meet each game (this is my Under 12 rep team). Since I have implemented these KPIs, the team has only lost the grand final at the Ballarat tournament by 6 points. Considering we lost to Eltham 3 by 50 points when we played them more than 6 months ago – I was proud of their improvement!

The KPIs I have implemented:

  • Less than 15 Turnovers per game (remember I am coaching under 12s!)
  • More than 30 rebounds a game
  • Limit uncontested shots by opposition
  • No second chance shots by opposition (opposition offensive rebounds)

Clear goals for the team to meet seems to have worked so far. We beat a team by 9 points in the Ballarat tournament that we lost to by 12 points only 2 weeks before!

Clarity seems to be the key.

